Academics


Looking for a specific major or program in the humanities? LAS list of Advisors is here. LAS Advisors are not currently holding walk-in or in person appointments.


  • African American Studies | Advisor: Prof. Candice Jenkins, cmjenki@illinois.edu

  • Art History | Advisors: Brian VanGinhoven, byanginh@illinois.edu & Prof. Kristin Romberg, kromberg@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Asian American Studies | Advisor: Prof. Fiona Ngo, ngo@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Classics | Advisor: Prof. Brian Walters, bwaltrs@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Comparative and World Literature | Advisor: Prof. Rini Mehta, rbhttchr@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Creative Writing | Advisors: Keshia Atkins, kaatkins@illinois.edu; & Anna Ivy, aivy@illinois.edu; 200 English

  • East Asian Language and Cultures | Advisor: Advisor: Jeeyoung Ha, j-ahn3@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • English |Advisors: Keshia Atkins kaatkins@illinois.edu; & Anna Ivy, aivy@illinois.edu

  • French | Advisor: Daniel Maroun, dmaroun2@illinois.edu; schedule online or email for an appointment

  • Women and Gender Studies |Advisor: Tasha Robles,tmatos@illinois.edu

  • German | Advisor: Prof. Laurie Johnson, lruthjoh@illinois.edu; 3108 FLB

  • History | Advisor: Stefan Djordjevic, djordje1@illinois.edu; 305 Greg Hall

  • Italian | Advisor: Prof. Eleanora Stoppino, stoppino@illinois.edu; email for an appointment|

  • Latina/Latino | Advisor: Alicia Rodriguez, aprodrig@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Linguistics | Advisor:  Zack Reed, zreed2@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Medieval Studies | Advisor: Prof. Eleanora Stoppino, stoppino@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Philosophy | Advisor: Prof. Noel Saenz, nbsaenz@illinois.edu; 208 Greg Hall

  • Portuguese | Advisor: Prof. John Karam, karam@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Religion | Advisor: Prof. Richard Layton, rlayton@illinois.edu; email for an appointment

  • Slavic Languages and Literature | Advisor: Prof. David Cooper, dlcoop@illinois.edu; 2014 FLB

  • Spanish | Advisor: Zack Reed, zreed2@illinois.edu; email for an appointment (temporary advising starting Nov 13, 2020)

Certificates can be a way to expand your academic preparation, within the humanities and beyond.

Exploring the College of LAS

Exploring majors and careers